In the neighborhood

Aug. 27, 2019

Rippey United Methodist Church

On Sunday, Aug. 18,  during church services, Pastor Cat Stokes presented to Raymond Mills his Bible on behalf of the congregation.

Wednesday, Aug. 28 –  choir practice begins for the year at 7:00 in the sanctuary.
Sunday, Sept. 1 at 11:00 am – Dedication of Sunday school teachers
Saturday, Sept. 7 at 8 am –  Work day for ice cream social
Sunday, Sept. 8 –  Ice Cream Social from 4 – 7 pm Continue reading In the neighborhood

ReCharge Wednesday, other programs return to JPRD

ReCharge Wednesday is returning to the Greene County Community Center with the start of the new school year.

Students in grades K-5 are invited to participate in this free program Wednesdays from 2 to 3:30 pm. Healthy snacks and organized games will be provided. JPRD staff will escort younger students from the middle school bus drop-off to the community center.
Recharge Wednesday will meet every Wednesday afternoon school is in session, unless school is dismissed early due to the weather. Continue reading ReCharge Wednesday, other programs return to JPRD

Two more State Fair ribbons for Carlson

The results of State Fair food competitions are still being released and Marianne Carlson’s “wins” are among them.

Carlson, of Jefferson, won first place and a $100 gift card in the My Favorite Meatloaf competition judged Aug. 15. Entries were judged on taste, texture, creativity and appearance.

She placed second in the fruit salsa  category of the Salsa Sensations competition, also judged Aug.15. Entries were judged on taste, originality, uniqueness and appearance.

In the neighborhood

~by Jean Borgeson

UMC announcements – Pastor Paul relayed the grateful thanks from the staff at the Greene County School for the delivery of the backpacks the congregation had collected and filled with school supplies. Also, a reminder to the students in the congregation to bring their backpacks to church on Sunday, August 25, to be blessed. Continue reading In the neighborhood

Pheasant harvest up, but number of hunters down

Pheasant hunters harvested nearly 320,000 roosters in Iowa during the 2018 season, which was the highest harvest total since 2008. In 2017, hunters harvested an estimated 221,000 roosters.

“The 2018 roadside survey showed our pheasant population was 39 percent higher than in 2017, so we were expecting an improved pheasant harvest,” said Todd Bogenschutz, upland wildlife biologist for the Iowa Department of Natural Resources (DNR). Continue reading Pheasant harvest up, but number of hunters down

First winners in State Fair contest told

Karen Pope (left) and Kay Moranville (right), also known as The Springer Twins, won the Look Alike contest at the Iowa State Fair. (We can see why!)

Greene County had winners in the Twins, Triplets and More contest judged Thursday, the first day of the Iowa State Fair.

Kay Moranville and Karen Pope, Jefferson High School class of 1965, took first place in the age 18 and older most alike category. They’ve competed in the contest many years and have won  most times they’ve competed.

Anastasia, Bridget and Catarina Hobbs of Lohrville placed second in the age 9-11 least alike category. They aren’t Greene County residents, but their mother Shannon is the Paton-Churdan music director, making them almost residents.