Minnehan elected as chair of county extension council

Four officers were elected during the Iowa State University Extension and Outreach Greene County extension council organizational meeting Jan. 8. The nine-member county extension council annually elects officers to comply with Iowa law.

Shari Minnehan of Churdan was elected chairperson. Minnehan will preside at all meetings of the county extension council, have authority to call special meetings and perform duties as performed and exercised by a chairperson of a board of directors of a corporation. Bruce Bahnson, Jefferson was elected vice chairperson.

Jessi Riley of Rippey was elected secretary and has the responsibility of keeping the minutes of all county extension council meetings and signing required papers for the council.

The council elected Pam Olerich of Jefferson to the treasurer position. The treasurer has charge of all of the funds of the county extension council; receives deposits, pays and disburses. The treasurer insures an accurate record of receipts and disbursements and submits reports to the county extension council.

As elected officials, the county extension council is the governing body of ISU Extension and Outreach. The county extension council hires county staff, manages the county extension budget of approximately $320,000 and helps determine programming.

In partnership with ISU Extension and Outreach, the council provides educational opportunities that bring university resources to the needs of the county and region. Local county extension programs are offered in Agriculture and Natural Resources, 4-H and Youth Development, Human Sciences and Communities.

The county extension office is located 104 West Washington in Jefferson. To learn more about ISU Extension and Outreach in Greene County, visit www.extension.iastate.edu/greene.

Print or share article:Print this page
Email this to someone
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook