Voters return many incumbents

Updated with write-in vote tallies

Write-ins chose Gerald Herrick as Grand Junction mayor

Incumbents won in every  race in the city and school election except in Jefferson.

In Jefferson, challenger Matt Gordon, who has served on the city council for two years, ousted  Craig Berry, who has been Jefferson mayor for 12 years and a city council member for 19 years before that.

Gordon garnered 513 votes (50.79 percent) while 494 voters (48.91 percent) selected Berry.

Berry was the only mayor in the county to face a challenger on the ballot. Mayors in Scranton, Churdan, Paton, Dana and Grand Junction were all unopposed for re-election. Grand Junction mayor Pierre Kellogg faced a challenge by write-in; voters were successful in electing previous mayor Gerald Herrick by write-in.

In the race for Jefferson city council, incumbents Dave Sloan and Matt Wetrich were re-elected, receiving 652 votes (37.62 percent) and 613 votes (35.37 percent) respectively.  Sean Sebourn received 457 votes (26.37 percent).

The election of Gordon as mayor will create a vacancy on the city council. That position can be filled by appointment or voters could call for a special election. The person who eventually fills the position will serve for two years, which is when Gordon’s council term would expire.

A total of 1,010 votes were cast in the Jefferson election.

The other ouster was in Scranton, where incumbent council member Ashley Squibb came in fourth with three seats up for election. Vote totals were Zach Sukovaty with 71 votes (29.96 percent), Cassidy Wilson with 61 votes (25.74 percent), and Jeramie Phillips with 40 votes (16.88 percent). Squibb received 34 votes (14.35 percent). There were a total of 31 write-in votes cast for council.

Scranton mayor Cole Gustoff received 69 votes.

Greene County Schools voters re-elected incumbents Steve Fisher (974 votes, 43.74 percent) and John McConnell (810 votes, 36.37 percent). Randy Lebeck received 424 votes (19.04 percent).

Newcomer Kelly Minnihan and incumbent David Palmer were elected to the Paton-Churdan school board. Minnihan received 77 votes (51.68 percent) and Palmer received 70 votes (46.98 percent).

In Churdan, the winners of two city council seats were determined by write-in votes. With three seats open, Andrew Hamilton’s name was the only one on the ballot He received 34 votes. Among write-ins, Colton Morlan received nine votes, Anthony Minnehan received eight votes, Samantha Hamilton received six votes, Paul Fay got three votes and Bill Gebhart got two votes. Eleven write-in votes were scattered. There were a total of 39 write-in votes. Mayor Joleen Killeen received 29 votes, 85.29 percent.

Dana Mayor Mandy Sims was returned to office with six votes; a total of seven votes were cast. Kellie Madison was re-elected to the Dana city council, also with six of seven votes.

Council member Pierre Kellogg was the only candidate on the ballot for mayor of Grand Junction. Incumbent Brock Lyons did not run for election. Kellogg received 51 votes for re-election. However, former mayor Gerald Hedrick received 104 votes of 121 write-in votes, giving him the position. As a write-in candidate, he can decline the position if he chooses.

Kellogg will complete the remaining two years of his council term.

With two seats open on the council, Brian Mount received 101 votes (31.46 percent) and Chad Wilson received 89 votes (27.73 percent). Brandon Mount lost his bid by one vote, receiving 88 votes.

Paton mayor Steve Burrell was re-elected with 16 votes; there were four write-ins. Vote tallies in the council race were Casey Kaufman, 27 votes (35.06 percent); Chris Sprecher, 19 votes (24.68 percent); and Judy Wilson, 14 votes (18.18 percent). Three seats were open.

Rippey mayor Daniel Brubaker received all 13 votes cast. With three seats open on the council, Jon Allen received 13 votes, Richard Liebich received 12 votes, and Ned Johnston received 11 votes.

Doug McDermott was re-elected to the Iowa Central Community College board of directors with 1,232 votes (99.12 percent).

Votes are unofficial until the county board of supervisors canvasses the votes.

Print or share article:Print this page
Email this to someone
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook