Rotary’s Professional of the Year Award to Terry Johnson

Bruce Bahnson honored with Avenues of Service Award

The Rotary Club of Jefferson recently honored Terry Johnson, chief executive officer of Genesis Development, with its Professional of the Year Award.

Club president Travis Dvorak presented the award to Johnson on behalf of the club.

During his 40 years of service to Genesis, the organization has grown from having four employees, one location and a budget of $120,000, to one with more than 500 employees in 17 locations and a budget of $19 million.

Johnson is a graduate of Luther College and Augustana College. He joined the Genesis staff as director in 1979, four years after its founding.

In presenting the award, Dvorak described Johnson as “a modest man,” and one who would say the success of Genesis has come through the hard work, collaboration and dedication of a great staff.

Johnson has shared his knowledge and experience as president of the Iowa Association of Community Providers and as a member of its board. He was recognized as the Executive of the Year by that organization in 2012.

As a surveyor for the Commission on the Accreditation for Rehabilitation Facilities (CARF) for more than 20 years, he participated in more than 100 surveys of agencies across the country. He guided Genesis to 13 consecutive 3-year CARF accreditations.

“A strong leader and a fervent advocate for the people Genesis serves, his professionalism led the organization to its strongly held commitment to provide the best quality services to meet the needs of those with disabilities,” Dvorak said.

“He has been not only the chief executive officer of Genesis, he has been its heart and soul,” Dvorak concluded.

Pictured are (from left) Rotarian and Genesis board president Tim Heisterkamp, Terry Johnson, Rotary past president Carol Durbin and Rotary president Travis Dvorak

Since 2004, the Rotary Club of Jefferson has recognized individuals for service to the area in their work. The Professional of the Year award follows the “object of Rotary” in the encouragement of high ethical standards in business and professions, the worthiness of all useful occupations, and one’s occupation as an opportunity to serve society.

Recipients of the club’s award are recognized professionals in the area. Being a Rotarian is not a criterion for the award.

Previous recipients of the Professional of the Year Award include Dan Benitz, Rick Morain, Don Orris, Sam Harding, Doug Rieder, Gary VonAhsen, Craig Hertel, Teresa Green, Chris Durlam, Norm Fandel and Ken Paxton.

The club also honored Bruce Bahnson with its Avenue of Service Award.

The Avenues of Service Award is presented to a Rotarian whose volunteerism coincide with Rotary’s five Avenues of Service – service to the local club, to his or her vocation, to our community, to youth, and to our world.

Bahnson joined the Rotary Club of Jefferson in 1985. He has the unique distinction of serving as president of two Rotary clubs – the Perry club and the Jefferson club.

Pictured are (from left) Rotary president Travis Dvorak, Bruce Bahnson and Carol Durbin.

He has served as a member of the Jefferson-Scranton School board and the Prairie Lakes Area Education Agency board of directors. He served the community as the vice president of P.A.C.E., the group that promoted and then spearheaded the effort that led to the Greene County Community Center. He has served his church, First United Methodist, in many ways, including serving on the Finance Committee.

His international service has been very personal, as he and his wife Beth opened their home twice to international Rotary exchange students.

Bahnson joins Rotarians Chris Durlam, the late Fred Morain and the late Francis Cudahy, Nancy Stroburg, Jim Copeland, Jacque Andrew, Mike Mumma, Steve Schwalleer, Don Orris, Larry Fie, Ruth Freeman, Gary Von Ahsen and Sam Harding as recipients of the award.

Print or share article:Print this page
Email this to someone
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook