Four running in Jeff special council election

Jefferson voters will choose the next city council member from among four persons who filed nominating petitions for the June 25 special election.

Running to fill the council seat formerly held by Larry Teeples are Amelia Carman, Darren Jackson, Michael A. Mentzer and Mark Wright.

Jackson was appointed to the position by the city council last month. He would have served until theĀ  regular November election. However, a petition was filed by voters asking for the special election. He will serve as the appointee until the canvass of the June 25 election.

The winner of the special election will serve until Dec. 31, 2021, the expiration of former council member Teeples’ term.

Print or share article:Print this page
Email this to someone
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook