Main Street Iowa holds awards celebration

Main Street Iowa hosted the 33rd annual Main Street Iowa awards celebration Friday, March 8,  at Scottish Rite Consistory in Des Moines.

Jefferson had more than 30 people in attendance. The program honored the efforts of those who work to revitalize Iowa’s downtowns – the heart and soul of communities across the state. The awards honor outstanding accomplishments, activities and people making a difference in the state’s 53 Main Street districts.

Jefferson was recognized for reaching the $5 million milestone for private investment in the commercial district. Pictured are (from left), Peg Raney, Marc MdGinn, Deb McGinn, Nick Sorensen, Susan Sanders, Lynda Cochran, Carol Ahrenholtz, Lt Gov Adam Gregg, Gov Kim Reynolds, Jefferson Matters: Main Street board president Jamie Daubendiek, and Harry Ahrenholtz.

Jefferson received the following state awards and special recognitions at the Main Street Iowa Awards on March 8:
• $5 Benchmark for dollars spent in the Main Street District since becoming a Main Street community in 2012.
• Jefferson was also commended for hosting the Smithsonian Traveling Exhibit of HomeTown Teams in 2018.
• Debra McGinn was recognized as Jefferson’s 2018 Leadership Award recipient.
• Jefferson Matters: Main Street submitted seven nominations for various award categories but didn’t receive any of the awards.

Debra McGinn was recognized as the Jefferson Matters Volunteer of the Year. Pictured are (from left) Lt Gov Adam Gregg, Gov Kim Reynolds, McGinn, Jefferson Matters: Main Street director Peg Raney, and Iowa Economic Development director Debi Durham.

This year, 19 projects were selected to be recognized from the 129 competitive nominations submitted. The honors were presented by Governor Kim Reynolds, Iowa Economic Development Authority (IEDA) Director Debi Durham and James Engle, director of IEDA’s Downtown Resource Center.

Two special awards were presented during the event. The community of Mount Vernon received the “Spirit of Main Street” for demonstrating the true intent of the program. The City of Dubuque and the Dubuque Main Street Program received the “Signature Project” award for the Steeple Square Project in Dubuque’s historic commercial district, which stood out among this year’s projects.

During the event, seven communities were recognized for reaching milestones in the amount of private investment in their commercial districts. Newton was recognized for reaching the $1 million-dollar benchmark and Colfax was honored for $3 million in local investment. Centerville and Jefferson attained the $5 million-dollar benchmark. Story City was recognized for achieving $10 million in local investment since being designated a local Main Street program and Des Moines 6th Avenue Corridor and Marion both reached the $20 million-dollar benchmark.

As part of the event, a special partnership with the Smithsonian Institution and Main Street Iowa was highlighted. Carol Harsh, Director of “Museum on Main Street” for the Smithsonian Institution Traveling Exhibition Service recognized Ames, Conrad, Guthrie Center, Jefferson, Mount Vernon and Ottumwa for hosting Smithsonian’s exhibit “Hometown Teams: How Sports Changed America” in their community.

The Jefferson delegation
Print or share article:Print this page
Email this to someone
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook