Fredericks receive Environmental Leader award

Al and Ann Frederick and Bill and Melissa Frederick were among 66 Iowa farm families to be presented with the Iowa Farm Environmental Leader Award during a ceremony at the Iowa State Fair Aug. 15.

Gov. Kim Reynolds, Iowa Sec. of Agriculture Mike Naig and acting Iowa Department of Natural Resources director Bruce Trautman presented the awards.

Pictured are (from left) EPA Region 7 administrator Jim Gulliford, acting Iowa Department of Natural Resources director Bruce Trautman, Melissa and Bill Frederick with daughter Leah, Ann and Al Frederick, Gov Kim Reynolds, and Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig.

The award is a joint effort between the governor, Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship and Iowa Department of Natural Resources to recognize the efforts of Iowa’s farmers as environmental leaders committed to healthy soils and improved water quality.

It seeks to recognize the exemplary voluntary actions of farmers that improve or protect the environment and natural resources of our state while also encouraging other farmers to follow in their footsteps by building success upon success.

One thousand acres of corn, soybeans and hay, 120 cows and 150 feeder calves comprise the Frederick family farm in Greenbrier Township

Bill Frederick is a Greene soil & water conservation district commissioner, serves on the Greene County Lamb Producers board, and is a member of Practical Farmers of IA. He has hosted field days, presented a webinar, and will conduct on-farm research with PFI taking soil health samples. Soil fertility test samples are collected regularly.

On the farm are six acres of filter strips, one mile of grass waterway, permanent seeding on marginal steep ground, a pond, two miles of terraces and cover crops

Bill Frederick is also co-owner of a custom cover crop seed and application business he started in 2014.

“It is important we celebrate the conservation leaders who continually demonstrate their passion for protecting the soil and improving water quality. These awards help celebrate these deserving farmers and highlight their commitment to and investment in environmental stewardship,” Naig said.

This is the seventh year for the award program and to date more than 500 families have received recognition.

Winners were presented a certificate as well as a yard sign donated by Monsanto and a commemorative program provided by the Iowa Ag Water Alliance. Hagie Manufacturing sponsored a recognition luncheon following the ceremony.

All winners were chosen by a selection group representing both conservation and agricultural groups.

The selection group that approved the 2018 winners included Susan Kozak from the Iowa Department of Agriculture & Land Stewardship, Bruce Trautman from the Iowa Department of Natural Resources, Jim Frederick from the Conservation Districts of Iowa, Jay Harmon from Iowa State University Extension and Outreach, Sean McMahon from the Iowa Agriculture Water Alliance, David De Geus from The Nature Conservancy, Jeff Pape from the Iowa Farm Bureau, Dennis Friest from the Iowa Corn Growers Association, Wayne Fredericks from the Iowa Soybean Association, Sheila Larson from the Iowa Turkey Federation, Dan Wetherell from the Iowa Pork Producers Association and Katie Oltoff from the Iowa Cattlemen’s Association.

Print or share article:Print this page
Email this to someone
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook