Letter to the editor – Jefferson Matters board

Letter to the Editor,

Jefferson Matters: Main Street’s board of directors on behalf of our committees wants to applaud the Jefferson RAGBRAI committee for their extraordinary work to showcase Jefferson on July 23. The signage, hospitality, vendors, entertainment, buses, and campgrounds gave the positive impression of not only the downtown but the entire community.

The local restaurants and organizations served great food to the masses! What a great chance to show off the businesses and amenities we have here in Jefferson. Main Street was proud to be involved with staffing the Information booths hearing over and over compliments about our beautiful and hospitable community.

Special thanks to the leaders who volunteered an unbelievable amount of hours to make this happen. Toni & Matt Wetrich, Thomas & Susan Laehn, Philip & Bridgette Heisterkamp, Nikki Uebel, Brett Cranston and Ian Wilkinson organized an amazing team. Each of them oversaw numerous committees undertaking the finances, insurance, volunteers, facilities, t-shirts, publicity, etc. that took time away from their families and their own businesses. They have worked since the announcement was made in January that Jefferson would host the overnight. The Highway to Bells was a terrific theme enjoyed by riders and support members coming from all over the world. We know this exposure made an impact not only on July 23 but down the line with possible new business ventures and families locating here.

Volunteerism is alive and well in Jefferson, and we appreciate all that you accomplished for the good of the community.

You have our sincere thanks,
Jefferson Matters: Main Street board of directors
Jamie Daubendiek
Amy Milligan
Carol Ahrenholtz
Megan Wilson
Mike Palmer
Karen Lawton
Ethan Murray
Deb McGinn
Lynda Cochran
Angie Reese-Hueser
Craig Berry
Peg Raney

Print or share article:Print this page
Email this to someone
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook