Farm Bureau holds appreciation picnic

Greene County Farm Bureau held a member appreciation picnic on Monday evening, Aug. 6, at Clover Hall in Jefferson. Approximately 100 members attended.

Iowa Farm Bureau president Craig Hill gave the keynote address. Hill told members that this year marks Iowa Farm Bureau’s 100th anniversary of serving members and enriching Iowa’s communities.

Iowa Farm Bureau president Craig Hill

Agriculture and Iowa have changed immensely since pioneering Farm Bureau members joined forces in 1918 to form a statewide organization. Yet, despite significant advances, some things remain the same such as farmers, and all Iowans, still place great value on hard work. They have a passion for the land and character rooted in faith and family.

Agriculture remains a driving force in the state’s economy. Farm Bureau’s grassroots focus, and on-going innovation means that Farm Bureau will continue to remain a relevant and vital part of Iowa into the next century and beyond, Hill said.

This year’s scholarship winners Ben Bravard of Jefferson and Kane Borgeson of Rippey were in attendance and recognized.

A Distinguished Service Greene County Farm Bureau president plaque was presented to John McCormick for his leadership as president the last three years.

This year’s Distinguished Service to Agriculture award was presented to Juhl Feed Inc. of Dana.

Members who were in attendance and won door prizes included Iva Jo Muir, Dennis Smalley, Leora Davis, Lyle Hoyle, Roberta Henning, Dale Miller, Robert Holz, Randy Freeman, Cliff Smith, and Ken Hastings.

Print or share article:Print this page
Email this to someone
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook