Free movie celebrates end of WWI and founding of American Legion

In a joint celebration of the founding of the American Legion and the end of World War 1 in 1918, the local American Legion Floyd W. Brown Post 11 of Jefferson and the Sierra Community Theatre invites the public, young and old, to free showings of the animated movie, “Sergeant Stubby: An American Hero,” Aug. 3-5. Show times are Friday and Saturday at 7 pm and Sunday at 2 pm and 7 pm at the Sierra Community Theatre.

“This special event has been planned as our way to thank the citizens of Greene county for their loyal support of the American Legion over the last 100 years and to acknowledge the sacrifice our local veterans have made in defending our freedoms,” said Legion post commander Jim Andrew. “We appreciate the financial and moral support the public has given us over the years and want to take this opportunity to thank all.”

“Sergeant Stubby: An American Hero” is a true story of the little mutt dog that stowed away with New York infantry unit and arrived in France during World War 1. The little dog played a key role in saving the lives of many soldiers as he could warn the men using his keen senses.

The movie is a heartwarming portrayal of Sgt. Stubby’s exploits which led to him being the first dog made a noncommissioned officer in the U.S. Army. He became a national hero in WWI and after the war participated in many parades and bond rallies to raise funds to defray the cost of the war.

This delightful, funny movie is sponsored by the members of American Legion Post 11 with their sincere thanks: Jack Anderson, James Andrew, Kenneth Arbuckle, Lawrence Blake, Glen Carstensen, Earl Cherryholmes, Karl Citurs, James Copeland, Joe DeBoest, Steve Fisher, Dean Foster, Haven Frantz, Robert Frederick, Ramon Gibson, Francis Gorman, Bud Haley, Gerry Halterman, Donald Ham, Thomas Hammel, JF Hanen, Kenneth Hastings, Dennis Hendricks, Donald Ihnken, Rudy Johnson, Vincent Kennedy, Barbara Labate, Jeff Lamoureux, Zandra Maldonado, Danny Marks, Dean McAtee, Robert McCarville, Douglas McDermott, John Milligan and John Minnihan.

Also Larry Monthei, Fon Murphy, John Odell Jr, Richard Ostendorf, Gerald Ott, Robert Owens, Carroll Perkins, John Peters, Craig Presley, Guy Richardson, Warren Robson, Gary Schiltz, Dallas Schrader, Aaron Schroeder, William Schulze, Richard Smith, Wayne Smith, Jacob Spaulding, Jerry Spaulding, Arnold Steinke, Louis Swanson, Francis Tasler, Charles Thompson, Elvin Thompson, John Thompson, Phil Thompson, Jack Tuhn, Gary Turner, Richard White, Paul Wilber, Daniel Wise, Dean Wolf and Donald Yepsen.

Print or share article:Print this page
Email this to someone
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook