Physics team qualifies for state competition

The Greene County physics competition team placed first overall in a regional competition Friday at Iowa Lakes Community College in Estherville. The first place finish qualifies the team for the state Physics Olympics at the University of Northern Iowa in April.

Fifteen students participated and placed in the following events:

Catapult: 1st place – Megan Durbin and Rachael Danielson;
2nd place – Naomi Long and Crawford Petterson

Challenge problem: 1st place – Linsey Kitt and Regan Lamoureux; 2nd place – Reid Stratton and Ben Wilkins

Bridge building: 1st place – Haley Hall and Megan Durbin;
(Participant) Jared Marshall and Zoe Joy

Straw arm:  1st place – Ellie Madson and Kassie Lamoureux

Mousetrap car: 2nd place – Luis Velazco and Alex Roberts

Team members are (front, from left) Rachael Danielson, Megan Durbin and Haley Hall; and (back, from left) Kassie Lamoureux, Ellie Madson, Crawford Petterson, Naomi Long, Linsey Kitt, Regan Lamoureux, Ben Wilkins, Reid Stratton, Jared Marshall, Zoe Joy, Alex Roberts and Luiz Velazco.

They were coached by physics teacher Launa Buxton. This is the second year Greene County students have qualified for the state competition.

Print or share article:Print this page
Email this to someone
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook