Ram grapplers back in action at HOIAC tourney

The Greene County wrestling team went back to work on the mats after a long layoff following the discovery of a viral skin infection among some of the wrestlers.

North Polk hosted the Heart of Iowa Conference tournament Tuesday, Jan. 16. Prairie City-Monroe claimed the championship with 223.5 points. Greene County was second at 165.5 and Gilbert was a close third with 164.5 points.

The Rams had five wrestlers with second place finishes. They were Brady Stauffer (120), Cayden Gerdes (132), Brock Wuebker (170), Bryce Hoyle (195), and Joseph Anderson (285).

106 – Chance McCollom won by decision over Gabriel Killian (G) 6-0; lost by fall to Landon Fenton (PCM) 2:37; pinned Mohamed Yokie (SH) 4:00; lost by fall to Isaac Larson (NP) 1:55, fourth place

120 – Brady Stauffer bye; won by decision over Caleb Peter (PCM) 3-0; lost by major decision to Cael Ihle (G) 4-13, second place

126 – Leo Mizok lost by fall to Cale Dumbaugh (N) 1:06; bye; lost by fall to Clay Van Wyk (PCM) 1:45; won by injury default, fifth place

132 – Cayden Gerdes bye; won by decision over Eric Davis (G) 10-4; lost by decision to Cody Lehman (S) 2-5, second place

138 – Will Hansen lost by fall to Lane Swenson (SH) 2:52; pinned Jake Van Houten (S) 1:05; won by decision over Cody Wallace (PCM) 14-8; won by decision over Emilio Saldana (N) 12-5, third place

145 – Clayton Peters lost by fall to Max Halstead (RS) 1:14; bye; lost by fall to William McCormick (NP) 2:45; lost by fall to Trevor Thompson (SH) 5:13, sixth place

152 – Isaac Ireland lost by fall to Drew Johnson (PCM) 3:25; bye; lost by decision to Trent Stephenson (S) 6-10; pinned Ethan Young (SH) 1:17, fifth place

160 – Colby Kafer bye; lost by decision to Aiden Carr (G) 3-5; lost by decision to Dylan Meiners (NP) 5-10; won by major decision over Jackson Sterle (RS) 18-5, fifth place

170 – Brock Wuebker won by technical fall over Josiah Delavois (NP) 17-0; pinned Jacob Macvey (N) 2:52; lost by fall to Lucas Roland (PCM) :28, second place

182 – Clint Dennhardt bye; lost by fall to Trevor Sprague (S) 3:12; pinned Nate Laube (SH) 1:17; pinned Jacob Steenhoek (G) 4:23, third place

195 – Bryce Hoyle bye; won by decision over Andrew Malone (S) 4-2; lost by fall to Reldon Miller (G) 2:13, second place

220 – Gage Michaelsen pinned Colton Willis (SH) 5:01; lost by decision to Jimmy Philipsen (RS) 6-9; won by decision over Jacob Ponder (PCM) 9-3; lost by fall to Colton Willis (SH) 4:12, fourth place

285 – Joseph Anderson bye; won by major decision over Nathan Shreck 1-9; lost by fall to Jace Smith (PCM) 2:40, second place

Team Standings: 1) PCM 223.5; 2) Greene County 165.5; Gilbert 164.5; 4) North Polk 158; 5) Roland Story 121; 6) Saydel 107.5; 7) South Hamilton 70; 8) Nevada 63 ~courtesy of The Scranton Journal

Print or share article:Print this page
Email this to someone
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook