City elections next Tuesday

~Courtesy of The Scranton Journal

Voters in the cities in Greene County and across the state will go to the polls on Tuesday, Nov. 7, to elect their leaders. Polls in each city will be open from noon to 8 pm. See the Notice of Election here.

There is an abundance of candidates for the mayor and city ouncil seats in Scranton and Grand Junction.

Scranton voters will have a choice between Jerry L Erwin and Cole Gustoff for mayor. Gustoff is a current council member. Randy Winkelman did not seek re-election.

There are three candidates for two four-year terms on the Scranton council. On the ballot are Jerald R. Boyd, David M. Dideriksen and Marcia Van Cannon. Boyd has served on both the council and as mayor in the past but not recently. Marilyn Jacobsen and Gustoff are current office holders.

Ashley Squibb is a candidate to fill a vacancy on the council. Orvie Umbaugh was appointed to fill that seat in the interim. Click here to see a sample ballot.

In Grand Junction, mayor Teresa Lansman is being challenged by Brock Lyons for the job.

There are six candidates for three seats on the council: Jacob Fester, Randy Frantz, Pierre J. Kellogg, Andrew Krieger, Kenneth Madesen and Jeff Strabley. Frantz and Kellogg are incumbents. Melody Larson did not seek re-election.

Grand Junction will also vote on ordinances regarding the organization of the library board, regarding residency and length of service. Click here for a sample ballot for council/mayor and one ballot proposition, and click here for the other ballot proposition.

It’s status quo in Rippey with mayor Daniel Brubaker and councilmen Donald Carpenter and Garry Higgins seeking re-election. Click here for a sample ballot.

In Jefferson there are three seats on the council and three candidates. Seeking re-election are Harry Ahrenholtz, Matt Gordon and Larry Teeples. They will be elected as at-large candidates where in the past, they had to live in the district they represented.

Matt Wetrich is running unopposed to fill the vacancy in District 2 where he was appointed to fill the seat earlier this year. Click here for a sample ballot.

There’s no contest in Churdan as the mayor and current council members are seeking re-election. Mayor Jolene Killeen and Councilmembers Heidi Geisler and Nick Christensen are on the ballot. Click here to see a sample ballot.

Paton will elect their mayor by write-in vote as the current office holder, Steve Burrell, did not file nomination papers. Diane Hanlon is seeking re-election to the council along with Jeff Headley. Matt Fox did not file papers to be on the ballot. Click here for a sample ballot.

Dana has a full slate of officers. Mandy Sims is the mayor with Chris Vargas and Anthony Sims serving as council members. They are seeking re-election. The sample ballot is here.

Voters can cast an absentee ballot at the Greene County auditor’s office in Jefferson during regular hours of 8 am to 4:30 pm. Voters have until 11 am on Tuesday, Nov. 7, to cast a ballot in that manner. Ballots can also be mailed; although the time frame is short for that voting option. Voters can also cast a ballot in their vehicle. Contact the auditor’s 0ffice for more information.

Print or share article:Print this page
Email this to someone
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook