Candidates told for city elections

Grand Junction and Scranton  have contested races in the Nov. 7 city election. The deadline for nominations was Sept. 21 at 5 pm. Deputy auditor for elections Billie Hoskins released names of candidates within an hour after the deadline.

Grand Junction has contests for mayor and city council. Brock Lyons is challenging Teresa Lansman, who was appointed after Mark Kersey resigned. There are six names on the ballot for three council positions: Jacob Fester, Randy Frantz, Pierre Kellogg, Andrew Krieger, Kenneth Madesen and Jeff Strabley.

Grand Junction voters will also have two ballot proposals to consider.

Proposal D would amend the ordinance pertaining to the qualifications of library trustees, requiring that at least four members of the library board of trustees be residents of the city. The remaining seats on the board could be filled by persons who live outside the city but within the Grand Junction library district.

Proposal E calls for library trustees to serve four-year terms, with half the board positions appointed every two years.

In Scranton, Jerry L. Erwin and Cole Gustoff are candidates for mayor. Jerald R. Boyd, David M. Dideriksen and Marcia VanCannon are candidates to two available city council positions. Ashley Squib is the only candidate running to fill a vacancy.

In Jefferson Harry Ahrenholtz, Matt Gordon and Larry Teeples are on the ballot for three at-large council seats. The winners will be the first Jefferson council members to be elected at-large.

Matt Wetrich is running unopposed to fill the vacancy in District 2 to which he was appointed in July. That term expires in 2019 and will then be elected at-large.

The Jefferson mayor position is not up for election until 2019.


Paton voters will elect a mayor by write-in, with no names appearing on the ballot. Diane Hanlon and Jeff Headley are running for Paton city council.

In Churdan, Joleen Killeen is running unopposed for re-election as mayor. Candidates for two council positions are Nick Christensen and Heidi Geisler.
In Dana, Mandy Sims is the only person on the ballot for mayor. Anthony Sims and Chris Vargas are running for two positions on the Dana city council.

The Rippey ballot has one name on it for mayor – incumbent Daniel Brubaker. Donald Carpenter and Garry Higgins are running for two positions on the city council.


Print or share article:Print this page
Email this to someone
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook