Karber, Wilson, Dennhardt elected to Greene Co school board

Official results, post canvass Sept. 15

P-C voters approve PPEL

The vote totals were close in the Greene County school election, with every candidate getting more than 20 percent of the vote, as voters re-elected incumbent Mike Dennhardt along with Dr Steve Karber and Catherine Wilson to four-year terms on the board of education.

Karber received 590 votes (27.97 percent), Wilson received 535 votes (25.4 percent), Dennhardt received 485 votes (23.03 percent), and Lana Teeples received 454 votes (21.56 percent). There were 43 write-in votes.

Karber won in the Jefferson and Scranton precincts and Wilson won in the Grand Junction precinct.

Vote tallies by precinct were:

• Jefferson – Karber 465; Wilson 406; Dennhardt 383; Teeples 340 | 15.21 percent voter turnout
• Grand Junction/Rippey – Wilson 96; Karber 88; Teeples 84; Dennhardt 73 | 12.29 percent voter turnout
• Scranton – Karber 36; Wilson 33; Teeples 30; Dennhardt 29 | 9.65 percent voter turnout

Total voter turnout was 12.59 percent, with 788 voters casting ballots. Of those, 144 were early/absentee ballots.

Paton-Churdan voters renewed the physical plant and equipment levy by a 5:1 vote, with 51 “yes” votes (83.61 percent) and 10 “no” votes (16.39 percent).

With three four-year terms expiring and only two names on the ballot, incumbents Mitch Stream and Dennis Tilley, both of whom had been appointed to the board since the last regular election, were duly elected to the board.

Write-in candidate Sarah Obinna was elected to the third four-year term with a total of 33 votes.

Eric Happe was elected to fill the remaining two years of a term to which he was appointed earlier this year.

Sixty-one persons voted, 8.32 percent of the registered voters

Print or share article:Print this page
Email this to someone
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook