School elections today

Voters in the Greene County and Paton-Churdan School Districts  go to the polls on Tuesday, Sept. 12. Polls will be open from noon until 8 pm.

Greene County has four candidates for three seats. Only one incumbent, Mike Dennhardt filed for re-election. Also on the ballot are Steven Karber, Lana Teeples and Catherine Wilson. Teresa Hagan and Dr David Ohrt are not seeking re-election.

There are no director districts. All seats are district-wide representatives. The winners will serve four-year terms.

Ballots will be cast in the south rotunda of the Greene County courthouse for Jefferson precinct; Scranton city hall / Community Center for Scranton precinct; and St Brigid Parish Center in Grand Junction for the Grand Junction precinct. Voters who normally vote at the Rippey Community Center / public library will vote in Grand Junction.

Click here for the Greene County Schools Notice of Election and sample ballot.

P-C voters will elect three representatives and fill a vacancy. Mitch Stream and Dennis Tilley are candidates for re-election. Deonne Robey did not file nomination papers so that seat on the board will be filled by a write-in candidate.

Eric Happe was appointed to fill the vacancy created when Steve Burrell resigned. Happe is a candidate to continue to fill the spot, serving until 2019.

P-C voters will also cast a ballot on the physical plant and equipment levy of 86 cents (per $1,000 of taxable valuation) of property within the district, beginning with the levy for collection in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2019, for the following ten years. The proposal is for a renewal of the existing PPEL – it is not a new tax.

Click here for the Paton-Churdan Notice of Election and sample ballot.

Local residents are reminded of voter registration laws. Persons who have moved or have not voted in a recent election should contact the Greene County auditor’s office to check on the status of their voter registration. Absentee ballots may be requested or may be voted in the auditor’s office through 11 am on Sept. 12.  ~The Scranton Journal

Print or share article:Print this page
Email this to someone
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook