Greene County magistrate court, week ending March 9

In Greene County magistrate court a judgment was entered against Jeremy Michael King of Fort Dodge on a charge of theft- fifth degree. He was fined $65 with a $22.75 surcharge and a $125 Law Enforcement Initiative (LEI) surcharge. He must also pay $248.09 court costs and $37.03 restitution to the Paton Pit Stop.

A judgment was entered against Jesus Rivera Argueta of Jefferson on a charge of trespass (casino self-exclusion). He was fined $65 with a $22.75 surcharge and a $125 LEI surcharge. Court costs were $203.30.

Brett Daryl Cranston of Jefferson pleaded guilty to one count of trespass- simple. No judgment was entered for a fine or surcharge, but he must pay a $125 LEI and $251.70 court costs. Two counts of trespass- simple were dismissed.

Related to the charges, Cranston was cited by the Iowa DNR for violation of restrictions on taking game – deer and turkey. The citation has gone to judgment. Cranston was fined $100 with a $35 surcharge. He must pay $8,000 in liquidated damages for the game he took illegally. He was also cited for prohibited hunting near building or feedlot. He was fined $25 with an $8.75 surcharge. Court costs were $60 on each citation.

Nicholas Anthony Balderas of Jefferson pleaded guilty to a charge of trespass. He was fined $65 with a $22.75 surcharge and a $125 LEI surcharge. He must pay $17.17 restitution to Hy-Vee and $60 court costs. A charge of theft- fifth offense was dismissed.

Cases were initiated in magistrate court during the week ending March 9 as follows: Nastassia Chanel Goff of Grand Junction, interference with official acts; Angela Dawn Beem of Jefferson, theft- fifth degree; Brenda Renee Thompson of Perry, theft- fifth degree; Jackson Devon Walsh of Ankey, assault- simple and criminal mischief- fifth degree; Bryan Gene Snell of Coon Rapids, interference with official acts (two counts); Michael Allen Kennedy of Nevada, possession of drug paraphernalia; and Michael Allen Olson of Jefferson, interference with official acts and public intoxication.

Persons paid fines for scheduled traffic violations during the week ending March 9 as follows: Joshua Richard Kunce of Yale, speed, $155; Jeremy J Hamilton of Jefferson, careless driving, $35; Dustin Micheal Jones of Fort Dodge, boat personal floatation devices- equipment violation, $20; Dennis William Berg of Arcadia, unsafe passing, $100; Brenda Lynn Ruddy of Jefferson, operation without registration, $50; and Christy Smithson, operate non-registered vehicle, $50.

Also, speed, $80 (11-15 mph over limit): *Dominiquex Denise Williams of Des Moines.

Speed, $40 (6-10 over): Madison Leigh Werden of Carroll, *Mary Dawn Berry of Fort Dodge, and *Kenneth Harrison Weichman of Des Moines.

Speed, $20 (1-5 over): John William Kaurmann of Ankeny, *Barbara Jean Lorenzen of Clive, Jessica A Arnold of Jefferson, Ward Alfred Buttolph of West Des Moines, Clarence Wesley Vinzant of Perry, Kristin Kay Saddoris of Ankeny.

Failure to obey stop/yield sign, $100: Brenda Marie Martin and Wilma Louise Bender of Jefferson, Timothy A. Meseck of Denison, and Nicholas Carter Rice of Rippey.

Failure to wear/maintain safety belt, $50: Drake Patrick Dayton of Jefferson.

Judgments were entered against individuals for nonpayment of scheduled fines as follows (original fine listed): Christopher Michael Andrew of Scranton, speed, $120; Michael John Stehr of Lake View and Michael Kevin Rooney Jr of Jefferson, failure to use/maintain safety belts, $50; and Bobby Lee Hunt of Churdan and Karlan James Langfitt of Dana, failure to provide proof of financial liability, $250.

The judgment includes a penalty of one-half the original fine and surcharge.

Court costs were $60 on each citation unless otherwise noted.

*An additional $5 county surcharge was added.

Print or share article:Print this page
Email this to someone
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook