Local poets again featured in Iowa Poetry Association anthology

The work of Greene County poets will be published in Lyrical Iowa 2016.

Lyrical Iowa 2016 showcases the work of 351 poets, as compiled by editor Lucille Morgan Wilson. The published poems were selected from entries in the Iowa Poetry Association’s 71st annual contest.

The 2016 contest was considerably larger than last year, with 2,150 poems submitted by poets in 89 counties and more than 100 Iowa cities and towns. In 2015, 1,600 poems were submitted.

Included are poems by Lorene Conner, Jerry Roberts, Hollie J. Roberts and Victoria Riley, all of Jefferson, and Nancy Bardole Hanaman of Rippey.

Lyrical Iowa 2016 is now available for purchase. The 173-page book can be ordered from editor Lucille Morgan Wilson, for $10 per copy, postpaid to anywhere in the United States. Send payment to: Iowa Poetry Association,  2325  61st Street, Des Moines, IA 50322.

Simultaneous with announcement of the 2016 winners is the Jan. 1 opening of the 72nd annual contest.  Rules are available online at http://www.iowapoetry.com or by sending a stamped, self-addressed envelope to incoming editor Marilyn Baszczynski at 16096 320th Way, Earlham, IA  50072. There is no entry fee and membership in the Iowa Poetry Association is not required. Deadline for entries is Feb. 28, 2017.

Editor Lucille Morgan Wilson is retiring after 28 years in that position.

Print or share article:Print this page
Email this to someone
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook