New terms for county Extension council members start in January

Five Greene County residents were elected to the Iowa State University Extension and Outreach Greene County council in the Nov. 8 general election. They are Tom Heater, Pam Olerich, Doug Rieder and Bob Smith of Jefferson and Shari Minnehan of Churdan.

Current members of the county extension council who were re-elected to four-year terms are Heater, Rieder and Minnehan, with Olerich elected to fill two years of an unexpired term. Smith will join the Council in January as a new member, replacing Dr Amber Lawton of Jefferson.

Council members elected in November will begin their terms in January and the council will meet in January 11 to elect officers.

Carryover county extension council members whose terms expire at the end of 2018 are Jake Bohnet of Paton, Joe Gannon of Rippey, Loel Larson of Jefferson, and Marilyn Parker of Churdan.

The extension council is the county’s governing body of Iowa State University Extension and Outreach. Extension council members hire county staff, manage the county extension budget of approximately $297,000 and help determine programming, said Tom Heater, ISU Extension and Outreach Greene County council chairperson. The county extension office is located at 104 West Washington in Jefferson. Learn more at

Elected council members and offices in every county uniquely position ISU Extension and Outreach to move the state forward. Last year more than 1 million people directly benefited from ISU Extension and Outreach programs. These programs help citizens solve critical issues affecting their lives. ISU Extension and Outreach and county extension councils together are building a strong Iowa.

Print or share article:Print this page
Email this to someone
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook