4-H news

4-H Hardin Happy Hustlers – The monthly meeting of the Hardin Happy Hustlers was held Nov. 6 in Clover Hall at the Greene County Fairgrounds in Jefferson. The evening began with a social activity presented by activity directors Izzy Bravard and Shailynne Woodley. Club leaders Kathy Bravard, Sharon Fisher and Kathy Marshall welcomed the families to the meeting. The club members and their families enjoyed a potluck supper. Following supper, president Jared Marshall called the meeting to order at 6:50 pm. There were 20 members present. Ben Bravard gave the treasurer’s report.

Old business included a review of the Landus cookout; the club made $344. The annual 4-H awards were held at Deal’s Orchard on Oct. 16. Club members that were recognized at the awards ceremony included the following:

  • Juniors: Carson Cerveny, Grace Curtis, Trey Schilling and Caden Telleen
  • Intermediates: Hannah Curtis and Alex Cerveny
  • Seniors: Lucas Fisher and Jared Marshall

New business included a reminder that on-line registration is due Nov. 15. The fee is $15 and should be paid to the Extension office also by Nov. 15. November 18 there will be a new member’s night at the Extension office at 6 pm, which will be followed by free bowling and pizza at the bowling alley. December 2 is officer training in Boone at 6:30 pm at the Boone County Fairgrounds. December 11 is beef weigh in beginning at 1 pm.

The Hardin Happy Hustlers have 29 youth in their club from 20 families. All members present received new folders containing meeting dates, presentation and snack and drink assignments for the coming year. Supplies were provided and everyone had a chance to decorate their folder.

Sharon Fisher announced that this will be in her last year of being a club leader as her youngest son will be graduating high school. The club presented Hannah Curtis a Thank You card for sewing a quilt block for the quilt raffled at the county fair.

The installation of officers ceremony was held and the following officers were installed: Jared Marshall, president; Lucas Fisher, vice president; Hannah Curtis, secretary; Ben Bravard, treasurer; and activity directors Izzy Bravard, Lauryn Killion, and Shailynne Woodley.

Following the installation of new officers, three new members were inducted into the Hardin Happy Hustlers 4-H Club. The new members are Kaiden Burbank, Violet Reedy and Gavin VanderLinden. . The meeting was adjourned at 7:25 pm. (Hannah Curtis, secretary)

Print or share article:Print this page
Email this to someone
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook