Historical Society slates final meeting for 2016

Society’s 2017 leadership nominated, elections at Dec. 2 get-together

The Greene County Historical Society will have its final meeting of 2016 on Friday, Dec. 2, at the Greenewood Center in Jefferson. There’ll be lunch at 12 noon, an election of the group’s officers and board members for 2017, and holiday music from Greene County High School band members directed by Wes Anderson.

The lunch is $8 for Historical Society members, and they should make reservations by Wednesday, Nov. 30, with group’s community contacts. Others can RSVP for lunch to programs chairperson Ces Brunow at 515-370-5531.

Nominated for re-election as president is Dale Hanaman. Other nominees are Nancy Hanaman for vice-president, Margaret Hamilton for secretary, Becki Cunningham for treasurer, Ces Brunow for past-president, with Roger Aegerter continuing as executive director.

They would also serve on the board of directors, which would include these additional board members: Carol John, Chuck Offenburger, Mary Lynch, Nick Foster, Joyce Ausberger, Dallas Schrader and Paul White.

Additional nominations can be made by Historical Society members at the Dec. 2 meeting.

Memberships for 2017 can be purchased at the meeting; by mail from the Historical Society at 219 E. Lincoln Way (Box 435) in Jefferson, or online at www.greenecountyiowahistoricalsociety.org. Individual memberships are $15, family membership is $20 or you can be a “Friend of the GCHS” for $50.

Printed newsletters, including a review of 2016 activities and the schedule of 2017 events, will be available at the meeting, or will be mailed to members afterward.

Print or share article:Print this page
Email this to someone
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook