DAISY Award to Desiree Monaghan

Carl Behne, Desiree Monaghan, Katie Heldt
Carl Behne, Desiree Monaghan, Katie Heldt

Desiree Monaghan joined the  ranks of DAISY Award-winning nurses at Greene County Medical Center. Monaghan received the award Thursday morning at a ceremony attended by co-workers, families and friends of the seven nominees.

Monaghan has worked in acute care and in obstetrics and served as a shift leader. In January she started working with the medical center’s quality management team, and she now serves as case manager.

She was nominated by physical and occupational therapists at the medical center. Her nomination states that “she works diligently with all departments to make sure patients and their families have the most current information regarding their care, goals and discharge plan.”

“Desiree embodies what a DAISY nurse is through her compassionate care, hands-on approach, and willingness to do what is necessary for patients to succeed…. Desiree realizes that it is the small things that make all the difference in the world.”

She received a floral bouquet and a hand-carved statue, “A Healer’s Touch.”

Other nominees were  Sarah Borgeson, Karen Carman, Jeanne Hoening, Katie Palmer, Abby Skoglund and Kelsey Stumbo.

Juanita Gilley
Juanita Gilley

Juanita Gilley, former East Greene school nurse and a nurse at Boone County Medical Center, talked about nursing as a career and the special challenges and opportunities of working in a rural hospital. She named 10 things she loves about being a nurse.

Medical center CEO Carl Behne made brief remarks. The award was presented by chief nursing executive Katie Heldt. Heldt said all the nominees demonstrate that “the little things go a long way.”

Previous Greene County Medical Center DAISY Award recipients include Jenny Taylor,  Laine Custer and Lori Harrah.

The internationally-known DAISY Award has been used to recognize thousands of “extraordinary nurses” for exceptional patient care for the past 15 years. More than 1,700 medical facilities worldwide honor nurses with the Daisy Award.

Karen Carman, Abby Skoglund, Katie Palmer, Desiree Monaghan, Kelsie Stumbo, Jeanne Hoening, Sarah Borgeson
Karen Carman, Abby Skoglund, Katie Palmer, Desiree Monaghan, Kelsey Stumbo, Jeanne Hoening, Sarah Borgeson
Print or share article:Print this page
Email this to someone
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook