Midwest Partnership seeks award nominees

Midwest PartnershipMidwest Partnership Development Corporation invites the public to nominate entrepreneurs and economic development leaders for a pair of awards that will be presented in late January.

The Entrepreneur of the Year Award is an opportunity to highlight and share the successes of small businesses in the Midwest Partnership Region of Adair, Audubon, Greene, and Guthrie Counties. Nominees must be businesses based within the region and can be employees, owners and/or management teams who demonstrate some level of entrepreneurial success. Self-nominations are accepted.

Success can be defined as significant increase in sales, securing a large contract, innovative process or entrepreneurial ideas that result in meaningful performance improvements in the company. Success may also be from within the community, a positive workplace initiative, an example of community volunteerism and/or can simply be a unique product or service offering.

Judging will be based on specific achievements, as well as impact to the region at-large, company employees, customers, and other area businesses. Those submitting nominations should include a recommendation letter describing the success of the nominee.

The Guy Powell Award recognizes excellence in leadership in economic development in the Midwest Partnership EDC region.

Powell, past president of the Midwest Partnership Development Corporation and an active volunteer on the board of many other area organizations, was passionate about local and regional economic development. He was a strong believer in the region’s potential. In recognition of his life-long dedication, commitment, and service, the Midwest Partnership Development Corporation has created the Guy Powell Award. The award will be given for the sixth time at the organization’s annual meeting on Jan. 28.

Businesses and individuals who are members of the Midwest Partnership are encouraged to nominate individuals who stand out as outstanding leaders in this area of west central Iowa, particularly in the counties of Adair, Greene and Guthrie, and who work to make it a more economically vital place to live, work, and play.

Those submitting nominations should consider the vision, leadership, courage and impact of the nominee and include a recommendation letter describing those qualities or examples of his or her leadership.

The applications/nomination forms for both awards can be found at the Midwest Partnership website; www.midwestpartnership.com and can be completed and sent back to Sarah Gomez at sgomez [at] midwestpartnership [dot] com, faxed to 515-523-1397, or mailed to PO Box 537, Stuart, Iowa 50250. The deadline for nominations is Friday, Jan. 8.

Print or share article:Print this page
Email this to someone
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook