Republicans elect new leadership

DES MOINES – Iowa Gov. Terry E. Branstad and Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds on Thursday congratulated new Iowa House Speaker-select Linda Upmeyer, new House majority leader Chris Hagenow, new House majority whip Joel Fry and new assistant house majority leader Zach Nunn following the House Republican caucus’ leadership election at the Iowa State capitol.

“Today is a historic day as Republican Linda Upmeyer will become the first female speaker of the Iowa House of Representatives. I congratulate Speaker-select Upmeyer and am eager to work with her, majority leader Chris Hagenow, majority whip Joel Fry and assistant majority leader Zach Nunn to continue building Iowa for the future,” said Branstad. “In Iowa, women are leading in key positions throughout state government – Lieutenant Governor Kim Reynolds, state auditor Mary Mosiman, Senate president Pam Jochum, the most female department directors in Iowa history, and soon the Speaker of the Iowa House of Representatives.”

In addition to those named, Iowa has more female department and agency directors than ever before. They include:

  • Debi Durham, Iowa Economic Development Authority
  • Courtney Kay-Decker, Department of Revenue
  • Janet Phipps Burkhead, Department of Administrative Services
  • Jodi Tymeson, Iowa Veterans Home
  • Beth Townsend, Iowa Workforce Development
  • Donna Harvey, Department on Aging
  • Mary Cownie, Department of Cultural Affairs
  • Geri Huser, Iowa Utilities Board
  • Donna Mueller, Iowa Public Employees’ Retirement System
  • San Wong, Department of Human Rights
  • Roxann Ryan, Iowa Department of Public Safety
  • Kristin Johnson, Iowa Civil Rights Commission
  • Joann Johnson, Iowa Credit Union Division
  • Judy Bradshaw,  Iowa Law Enforcement  Academy

“As the co-chair of Right Women Right Now, I’m proud to see Speaker-select Upmeyer being a trailblazer and role model right here in Iowa,”said Reynolds. “I look forward to continuing to work with Iowa House Republicans and leaders in the Senate to continue moving Iowa forward.”

Print or share article:Print this page
Email this to someone
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook