Impact Award nominations open Feb. 2

Area residents are encouraged to start thinking of individuals or groups to nominate for this year’s Greene County Community Impact Award.   This is the sixth year for the award which honors those who have volunteered their time and talents to Greene County through social, educational, or cultural activities as opposed to a business operation or work through an official position.  

Communities honor individuals locally. The Impact Award honors those who have made a difference in the Greene County community.

Nomination forms will be available at local libraries after Feb. 2. The nomination deadline is March 7. An announcement of this year’s recipient will be April 13. The award will be given in a ceremony Sunday, May 3, at 3 pm in the courthouse rotunda.

The Impact board includes Teena Toliver of Churdan, Elaine Schermerhorn of Scranton, Mary Weaver of Rippey, Becky Cunningham of Paton, Jerry Roberts of Jefferson and Lawrence Geisler of rural Jefferson. Geisler was the first recipient of the award in 2010.  The 2011 award was presented to the Churdan Town and Country Band; 2012, Carson Griffith of Grand Junction; 2013, Tim and Vickie Robbins of rural Scranton; and last year Doug Hawn, also of rural Scranton, was honored with the Impact Award.

Print or share article:Print this page
Email this to someone
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook