Iowa Farm Environmental Leader Award to Gibson

Awards presented at Iowa State Fair to families who have lead the way on environmental stewardship

State Fair Gibson awardDonald “Chop” Gibson of Scranton (pictured in red cap) was among 88 recipients of the Iowa Farm Environmental Leader Award.  Gov. Terry  Branstad (blue shirt), Iowa secretary of agriculture Bill Northey (right) and Iowa Department of Natural Resources director Chuck Gipp (left)  presented 88 Iowa farm families with the Iowa Farm Environmental Leader Award during a ceremony at the Iowa State Fair on Wednesday, Aug. 13. Chop’s brother Dean (white cap) was also at the award ceremony.

“It’s no secret that Iowa has a strong agriculture industry, as our state’s farmers provide food, biofuels and fiber to families in Iowa and around the world.  Farmers take pride in the work they do and also take pride in conservation efforts, preserving and protecting our natural resources. The Farm Environmental Leader award gives us all an opportunity to recognize their efforts as exceptional leaders,” Branstad said.

The award is a joint effort between the governor, Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, and Iowa Department of Natural Resources to recognize the efforts of Iowa’s farmers as environmental leaders committed to healthy soils and improved water quality.  It seeks to recognize the exemplary voluntary actions of farmers that improve or protect the environment and natural resources of our state while also encouraging other farmers to follow in their footsteps by building success upon success.

This is the third year for the award program and to date more than 200 families have received recognition.

“Iowa is a national leader in conservation and water quality efforts and it is important that we recognize the farmers who are making a significant investment in conservation efforts and serving as example in how we can continue to better care for our air, soil and water,” Northey said.

Winners were presented a certificate as well as a yard sign donated by Monsanto and a commemorative program provided by The Nature Conservancy.  Hagie Manufacturing sponsored a recognition luncheon following the ceremony.  Bob Quinn from WHO Radio served as the master of ceremony.

All winners were chosen by a selection group representing both conservation and agricultural groups.

The selection group that approved the 2014 winners included Jefferson native Jim Andrew, representing the Iowa Soybean Association, Jim Gillespie of the Iowa Department of Agriculture & Land Stewardship, Bruce Trautman of the Iowa DNR, Jim Frederick of the Conservation Districts of Iowa, John Lawrence of Iowa State University Extension and Outreach, Sean McMahon of The Nature Conservancy, Jeff Pape of Iowa Farm Bureau, Jay Lynch of  the Iowa Corn Growers Association, Pat Daufeldt of the Iowa Turkey Federation, and Dave Moody of the Iowa Pork Producers Association.

Print or share article:Print this page
Email this to someone
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook