Deadline Wednesday for placing name on Nov. 4 ballot

Vote 3The deadline to file nominating petitions for independent candidates for county office and for non-partisan offices is this Wednesday, Aug. 27, at 5 pm in the county auditor’s office at the Greene County courthouse.

In the courthouse, the partisan positions of county recorder, county treasurer and county attorney are up for re-election. Recorder Marcia Tasler (D) and attorney Nicola Martino (R) have no opposition at this time. Treasurer Donna Lawson (D) is being challenged by Kristi Holz (R).

A person seeking to have his or her name on the ballot as an independent candidate must file a nominating petition with at least 68 valid signatures and an affidavit of candidacy before the deadline. Those forms are available at the auditor’s office or on the Iowa Secretary of State’s website at

Persons seeking election to a non-partisan position do not need to obtain signatures, but only complete and submit an affidavit of candidacy before the deadline.

Terms are expiring for non-partisan positions are:

  • Ag Extension Council: David Higgins, Pam Olerich, Wendy Mount, Loel Larson, Marilyn Parker
  • Soil and Water Conservation District: Andy Krieger, Bill Frederick
  • Greene County Hospital board of trustees: Kim Bates,  Doug Hawn

Also, terms are expiring in townships as follows:

  • Dawson Township: Becki Cunningham, clerk; Scott Walker, trustee
  • Franklin Township: Shannon Funcke, clerk; Doug Lawton, trustee
  • Grant Township: Marvin Rasmussen, clerk; Peggy Semke, trustee
  • Greenbrier Township: JoAnne Schnebly, clerk; Brent Badger, trustee
  • Highland Township: Kim Kersey, clerk; John McCormick, trustee
  • Jackson Township: Tom Lawton, clerk; Josh Hedges, trustee
  • Junction Township: Jackie Gannon, clerk; Tim Collogan, trustee
  • Kendrick Township: Doris White, clerk; Dennis Paup, trustee
  • Scranton Township: Debra Fey, clerk; Glen Christensen, trustee
  • Washington Township: Jean Borgeson, clerk; Mary Ann Hick, trustee
  • Willow Township: Melissa Means, clerk: Mike Carter, trustee

~ list courtesy of the Scranton Journal




Print or share article:Print this page
Email this to someone
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook