Guthrie County in disaster proclamation

DES MOINES – Governor Terry E. Branstad on June 30 issued a proclamation of disaster emergency for five counties in response to the ongoing flooding and severe weather beginning June 26. Counties included in the proclamation are Adair, Cedar, Guthrie, Jones and Linn.

The governor’s proclamation allows state resources to be utilized to respond to and recover from the effects of these storms.

In addition, the proclamation activates the Iowa Individual Assistance Program for two counties: Adair and Guthrie.

The Iowa Individual Assistance Program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level, or a maximum annual income of $39,580, for a family of three. Grants are available for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food, and for the expense of temporary housing. Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for actual expenses related to storm recovery. The grant application and instructions are available on the Iowa Department of Human Services website. Potential applicants have 45 days from the date of the proclamation to submit a claim.

Print or share article:Print this page
Email this to someone
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook