Greene County magistrate court, week ending June 20

In Greene County magistrate court a judgment was entered against Zachery Allen Waters of Paton after a trial on charges of theft-fifth degree and trespass. He was found guilty of both charges. He was fined $65 with a $22.75 surcharge on each charge. He must also pay a $125 Law Enforcement Initiative surcharge and $60 court costs. Total judgment was $360.50.

Disposition was entered against Mark James Hurley of Jefferson in a case that was originated in district court. Hurley was charged with public intoxication-second offense. The charge was amended to public intoxication-first offense. A judgment for time served with a $48 sheriff’s fee and $60 court costs was entered; Hurley paid both.

A judgment was entered against Kaitlyn Mary Hernandez of Panora on a charge of public intoxication. The judgment was for time served; she must pay $48 sheriff’s fees and $60 court costs. A charge of interference with official acts was dismissed.

Cases were initiated in magistrate court as follows: Curtis Paul Carstens of Jefferson, harassment-third degree; and John Douglas Reed of Jefferson, possession of drug paraphernalia.

Persons paid fines for scheduled traffic violations during the week ending June 20 as follows: Maribel Lara Garcia of Denison and *Olivia Katherine Luther of Jefferson, speed, $60; Brett Steven Magee of Guthrie Center and Nicholas Ward Robinson of De Moines, windshield and window, obstructed vision, $50; *Daniel John Longnecker of Carroll, failure to maintain control, $100; *James Edward Brick of Des Moines, failure to carry registration card, $20; Angela Mae Harvey of Perry, dark windows, $50; and Jesse Eugene Hoyt of Jefferson, operation without registration, $50.

Also, speed, $80 (11-15 mph over limit): Aaron Michael Boyce of Carroll.

Speed, $40 (6-10 over): *Timothy Duanne Iverson of Fort Dodge, Susan Larson Christensen of Harlan, *Randall Larry Meyer of Johnston, Jose Antonio Ledezma Ledezma and *Jose Manuel Alverez of Marshalltown, *Joseph Anei Jong of Ames, Chelsea Dee Orey of Ankeny, *Matthew Thomas Schoon of Bayard, and *Ronald Harvey Lawton of Jefferson.

Speed, $20 (1-5 over): Sarah Hoyle of Churdan, Irmarie Swanson of Panora, Bryce David Tessman of Audubon, Neal Thomas Borgmeyer of Indianola, David James Dahlke of West Des Moines, Adam Joseph Handlos of Glidden, Michael John Burmeister of Coon Rapids, and Jonathan William Harrison of Owatonna, MN.

Failure to stop/yield as posted, $100: Gerardo John Lindgren of Churdan.

Failure to wear/maintain safety belts, $50: Gerardo John Lindgren of Churdan.

Fish and game violations: Travis Ryan Armstrong of Jefferson, boat- personal floatation devices – equipment, $20.

Judgments were entered against individuals for nonpayment of scheduled fines as follows (original fine listed): Angela Lee of Paton, speed, $20; *Cassie Lynn Bellcock of Rockwell City and *Shelana Chamberlain Laing of Clive, speed, $80; *Cynthia Marie Clousing of Churdan, failure to wear/maintain safety belts, $50; Shannonn Marie Otterson of Jefferson, failure to stop or yield as posted, paid $87 of fine, judgment entered for $13 fine, $35 surcharge; Kera Ann Shriver of Jefferson, failure to prove security against financial liability, $250; and Lance Michael Ross of Grand Junction, failure to maintain control, amended to defective equipment, judgment entered for 18 hours of community service prior to Aug. 1 in lieu of $100 fine.

The judgment includes a penalty of one-half the original fine and surcharge.

Court costs were $60 on each citation unless otherwise noted.

Print or share article:Print this page
Email this to someone
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook